top of page
  • thekeylitmag

Ode To My High Tops

Updated: Mar 6, 2019

By Natalie F.



Your burnt orange dusty

And bright,

You draw stares

From those who have never seen

Your kind

Quite the same

High tops, you are

My small rebellion,

You give unapologetic

New meaning

And let me wear individuality

Like a badge of honor,

Let me wear sunshine

On my feet

You are pumpkin pie

And fire,

Time-faded embers,

Spark and warmth

I know your linings

Like the back of my hand,

better,

And your soft canvas is my

Silk and velvet

Your heel logo scuffed

Into obscurity,

Dark stains creep up

Your second set of laces

Like a shadow on the moon

Rubber soles warped

To fit the contours

Of my soul

You are my perfect gloves

Your laces

Hug my ankles,

Make me strong

With your fearlessness

In you I’ve sprinted

Twirled

Trekked miles

And stood still

You carried me through NYC

On the best day of my life,

Have walked city streets

And linoleum,

Crossed state lines

And football fields

High tops,

You are my wings

With you I walk on air,

Fly,

The world a catwalk,

An adventure

I don’t care who sees me on

Oh high tops,

You make smeared canvas and rubber

My stilettos

And ponytails

My tiaras.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

chet baker

By Simon B. i fall in love too easily and that’s alright but my heart can’t always keep up. i fall in love sometimes when i look at someone and for some reason i just know. i fall in love when i sit b

Time

By Elizabeth A. time quiet as dead feet, that plod on a cold tile floor noiseless as starving mice with no crumbs to feed their hungry voices a shadow that waltzes in a slippery dance, between sleep b

Homecoming

By Lilliana R. the theme of the dance is “hippies”, which is of course a great irony, as the chaperones (who patrol the room like pale, stodgy ghosts) will pounce on any kid with drugs, free love, or

bottom of page