top of page
  • thekeylitmag

chet baker

Updated: Feb 27, 2019

By Simon B.


i fall in love too easily

and that’s alright

but my heart can’t

always keep up.


i fall in love sometimes

when i look at someone

and for some reason

i just know.


i fall in love when i

sit behind someone

in math class and they

pass me a pencil.


i fall in love too easily.

i tire myself out.

my friends don’t want to hear

about every stupid crush.


why do i love

when i know it hurts me?

why do i hurt when

no one else knows?

why do i waste away

in ideals and fantasies

that i know have no place

and no hope?


why do i let it get to me

when they don’t look at me

like we’re such close friends

or something?


why do i analyze a smile

or a laugh at a dumb joke

like it’s the defining clue

of a mystery novel?


why why why why why

why why why why why

why why why why why

why why why why why


why do i love


do i love


i love


you


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ode To My High Tops

By Natalie F. Your burnt orange dusty And bright, You draw stares From those who have never seen Your kind Quite the same High tops, you are My small rebellion, You give unapologetic New meaning And l

Time

By Elizabeth A. time quiet as dead feet, that plod on a cold tile floor noiseless as starving mice with no crumbs to feed their hungry voices a shadow that waltzes in a slippery dance, between sleep b

Homecoming

By Lilliana R. the theme of the dance is “hippies”, which is of course a great irony, as the chaperones (who patrol the room like pale, stodgy ghosts) will pounce on any kid with drugs, free love, or

bottom of page